Ashford Astronomical Society is looked after by a committee of seven members. They’ll always be at least one (usually most!) at any given meeting. Make sure you say hello! In addition to the core Committee, there is an extensive team who contribute online and during the meetings.


Steve Jacaas-website-pickson : Chairman      

Steve has been a member since 2008 and Vice-Chairman for 5 years. His interest in
Astronomy goes back many years when he was given a telescope as a child. When he’s not helping to run the society he can be found presenting a Request show on Radio Ashford.









Charlotte Jenner : Secretary

Charlotte is currently studying Astrophysics at the University of Kent, and is a very welcome addition to the team.





Sarah Hall : Treasurer  sarahwebsite

Sarah, our Treasurer can be normally found at meetings in the kitchen helping serve  the tea and coffee to our thirsty members.
She has been a member since 2008 and has a keen interest in all things astronomical.




Jon Clarke : Equipment Manager






Aimee Babbs : Membership Secretary

Aimee looks after all of the membership details. If you want to join or buy any of the membership gift vouchers, she is the one to speak to.



20140508_212710James Dadson : Merchandise & Publicity

You can find him at the back of the hall at our meetings selling our quality  AAS merchandise. James also helps to promote the club.






Emma Thompson : Social Media Co-ordinator

Emma looks after the club’s Twitter feed @AshfordAstro and hooks us up with other Astronomers and societies around the globe. She also has an MSc in Astrophysics, so we get her to answer all the difficult questions!